Womens Issues In Messianic Judaism

One of the hardest things for us as women to accept is we cant do it all.  Frankly, I am not sure we should even try. I have seen so many women get upset or angry with themselves because they feel that a ‘real woman” can do it all and do it perfect. This idea even spills over into our spiritual life. Somehow we decide that we need to know everything , do it all and be able to teach it to others . In fact, some of us put an expectation on ourselves that is far from realistic. For example, learning all levels of Hebrew, including advanced, well by the end of a couple years. I was raised with a Jewish mom and I have still have a lot to learn when it comes to reading siddur Hebrew, not to mention reading any Hebrew without vowels. When I married my husband I set this goal for myself, that was very unrealistic, of knowing basic halakah for the house, getting my Hebrew fully polished, and learning to be a great hostess, Nobody asked me to do this but me. After a while I began to see that nobody else knew it all either. So why panic? Its ok if I dont know the answers, cant make challah to save my life, or am not the worlds best housekeeper. As long as I am doing my best and moving forward then its good enough.  The rabbis teach that rather than doing several mitzvot poorly a person should pick one mitzva and work on doing it until its the best one can do, then add another, etc.  Be happy. Do the best you can today.  Tomorrow will take care of itself.

Leave a comment